-
by sayum
21 October 2026 1:29 PM
"There can neither be estoppel in law to take the aforesaid objection by OP, nor a waiver could have been made by the Insurance Company, as the policy cannot be validated in the teeth of Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 read with Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939." National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC), in an authoritative ruling dated October 1, 2026, held that an insurer cannot grant a relaxation or extension for the payment of insurance premium against a bank guarantee beyond the statutory window prescribed under Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 read with Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939.
A bench comprising Presiding Member AVM J. Rajendra (Retd.) and Judicial Member Justice Anoop Kumar Mendiratta observed that statutory provisions governing the assumption of insurance risk are mandatory, affirming that neither the doctrine of promissory estoppel nor waiver can be invoked to enforce a contract contrary to law.
The complainant, a food-grade plastic manufacturing firm, secured an Industrial All Risk (IAR) Policy from the Oriental Insurance Company for the period between October 17, 2016, and October 16, 2017, by furnishing a Bank Guarantee of Rs. 28,00,000 valid for 120 days, continuing a commercial practice adopted in preceding policy years. Following a major fire breakout on October 29, 2016, which resulted in extensive property damage, the complainant tendered the premium via cheque on January 17, 2017, within the 120-day validity period of the bank guarantee. The insurer repudiated the subsequent insurance claim of over Rs. 6.12 crore, citing non-compliance with statutory provisions on the ground that the premium had not been realized before the end of the calendar month next succeeding the assumption of risk.
The primary question before the Commission was whether an insurance company can validly extend the period for payment of premium against a bank guarantee beyond the statutory timeline mandated under Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 read with Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939. The Commission was also called upon to determine whether the insurer was estopped from repudiating the claim after having continuously accepted bank guarantees with a 120-day validity period across successive policy terms.
Statutory Framework Governing Advance Payment Of Premiums
Examining the core legislative scheme, the Commission analyzed Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 alongside Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939. The bench explained that the statute prohibits an insurer from assuming any risk unless the premium is received in advance or guaranteed to be paid in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed time.
Under Rule 58(i), risk can be assumed prior to receipt of premium only if the entire premium amount is guaranteed by a banking company to be paid before the end of the calendar month next succeeding the month in which the risk is assumed. The bench noted that the statutory deadline for the policy in dispute was November 30, 2016, whereas the premium was tendered through a cheque only on January 17, 2017.
No Discretion To Extend Statutory Timelines Under Rule 58
The Commission ruled that the insurer possesses no legal authority or discretion to contract out of the statutory scheme or grant an insured an extended timeline of 120 days. The bench emphasized that the policy cannot be legally invoked to indemnify losses when premium realization fails to meet the threshold of the statutory mandate.
"By virtue of Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 read with Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939, no discretion is vested with OP to defer the stipulated period of deposit of premium beyond the end of the calendar month next succeeding to the month in which the risk is assumed."
No Estoppel Or Waiver Against Mandatory Statutory Provisions
Addressing the complainant's plea of promissory estoppel based on the insurer's long-standing past practice and an email from 2014, the Commission held that an illegal arrangement cannot be legitimized by past acquiescence. Relying on the decision of the Madras High Court in Shriram Investments Ltd. v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. and the Supreme Court ruling in Hero Motocorp Limited v. Union of India, the bench observed that no estoppel operates against a statutory prohibition.
The Commission observed that while conditions framed solely for the benefit of an insurer can be waived, such waiver cannot be sustained when it violates mandatory statutory provisions or compromises public interest. Consequently, the insurer could not be compelled to honor a claim under an invalid policy cover.
Distinction Of Precedents Relied Upon By The Insured
The bench distinguished the judicial precedents cited by the complainant, including M/s Prakash Industries Ltd. v. National Insurance Co. Ltd., pointing out that in the said case the premium had been deposited before the expiration of the succeeding calendar month. Similarly, the Commission found ECGC Limited v. Mittal Technopack Private Limited inapplicable since that case involved contractual instalment payments rather than an absolute statutory bar under Section 64VB.
The Commission also clarified that the landmark ruling in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Rula, which held insurers liable despite premium default, arose strictly out of third-party statutory liabilities under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, and could not be extended to commercial indemnity policies.
"The fundamental principle of insurance law that good faith must be observed by the insurance parties in an insurance contract has been completely overlooked by OP by failing to disclose the factual position and consequences of deposit of the premium amount beyond the period stipulated..."
Insurer's Breach Of Utmost Good Faith And Award Of Restitutionary Compensation
While upholding the legal validity of the repudiation, the Commission severely censured the insurer for adopting deceitful practices to solicit commercial business. The bench observed that the insurance company systematically misled the insured by accepting invalid bank guarantees and deferring compliance disclosures until a claim arose.
The Commission underscored that the insurer failed to inform the complainant to deposit the premium before November 30, 2016, despite having received prompt intimation of the fire accident on October 29, 2016. Taking strong exception to this unfair conduct, the bench determined that the insurer could not retain the premiums collected under legally unenforceable policies.
To redress the disadvantage caused by the insurer's failure to make full disclosures, the Commission directed Oriental Insurance Company to refund the premium of Rs. 28,00,000 with 12% interest per annum from the date of deposit until realization. The Commission further awarded Rs. 43,00,000 as compensation, representing the premium unlawfully collected by the insurer under identical illegal terms during the preceding 2015-16 policy year.
The NCDRC concluded that compliance with Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 read with Rule 58 of the Insurance Rules, 1939 is non-negotiable, and an insurer cannot validate a policy beyond the prescribed period via estoppel or private agreement. The repudiation of the fire claim was accordingly sustained, but the insurer was penalized with extensive restitution and compensation for violating the foundational doctrine of utmost good faith.
Date of Decision: 01 October 2026