

### **THE DELHI LAWS ACT, 1915**

[Dated : July 30, 2024]

An Act to declare the law in force in certain territory added to the Province of Delhi.

WHEREAS by Proclamation a published in Notification No. 984-C., dated the 22nd day of February, 1915, the Governor-General in Council, with the sanction and approbation of the Secretary of State for India, has been pleased to take under his immediate authority and management of the territory mentioned in Schedule I, which was formerly included within the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, and to include the said territory in the Province of Delhi with effect from the 1st April, 1915;

AND WHEREAS it is expedient to declare the law in force in the said territory;

**1. Short title and commencement**.— (*1*) This Act may be called the Delhi Laws Act, 1915;

(2) It shall come into force on the first day of April, 1915.

2. Application to added area of law in force in existing Provinces of Delhi.— All enactments (except the enactments specified in Schedule II) for the lime being in force in the territory specified in Schedule A to the Delhi Laws Act, 1912 (XIII of 1912), and all notifications, orders, schemes, rules, forms and bylaws issued, made or prescribed under such enactments shall be deemed to be in force in the territory specified in Schedule I in the same manner and subject to the same modifications as they are for the time being in the territory specified in



the said Schedule to the said Act.

3. Continuance in added area of certain laws now in force in the United Provinces. —The enactments specified in Schedule III, and all notifications, orders, schemes, rules, forms and by-laws issued, made or prescribed under those enactments shall continue to be in force in the territory specified in Schedule I:

Provided that in the enactments so continued and in all notifications, orders, schemes, rules, forms and by-laws issued, made or prescribed thereunder, reference to a Local Government, the Lieutenant- Governor of the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, or the Board of Revenue for the United Provinces shall be read as referring to the Chief Commissioner of Delhi; references to a High Court or the High Court of Judicature for the North-Western Provinces as referring to the Chief Court of the Punjab; and references to the official gazette for the United Provinces as referring to the Gazette of India.

- 4. **Provision for facilitating application of certain enactments.** —For the purpose of facilitating the application to the territory mentioned in Schedule I of the enactments referred to in Section 3, the powers conferred by sections 4 and 5 of the Delhi Laws Act, 1912 (XIII of 1912), shall be exercisable in respect thereof.
- 5. Exclusion of certain enactments from the added area. —Save as provided in sections 2 and 3 no enactment which is in force in the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh or any part thereof, shall continue to be in force in the territory specified in Schedule I.
- 6. **Pending proceedings.** —Nothing in this Act shall affect any proceeding which at the commencement thereof is pending in respect of any of the territory mentioned in Schedule I or of anything arising in such territory and every such proceeding shall be continued as if this Act had not been passed:



Provided that the Local Government may, by notification in the Gazette of India, direct that any proceeding, criminal, civil or revenue, other than a proceeding pending before the High Court of Judicature for the North-West Provinces, shall be transferred to, and disposed of by, the corresponding authority of the Delhi Province.

- 7. Amendment of Section 7 of Act XIII of 1912. —In section 7 of the Delhi Laws Act, 1912 (XIII of 1912), for the words "the territory mentioned in Schedule A" the words "the Province of Delhi" shall be substituted.
- 8. **Construction.** —This Act shall be construed with, and deemed to be part of, the Delhi Laws Act, 1912 (XIII of 1912).





#### **SCHEDULE I**

[See section 2.]

#### TERRITORY ADDED TO THE PROVINCE OF DELHI

Revenue estates of-

- 1. Subehpur.
- 2. Jagatpur.
- 3. Baqiabad.
- 4. Beharipur.
- 5. Saadatpur Mahal Gujaran.
- 6. Saadatpur Musalmanan,
- 7. Saadatpur Amad Delhi,
- 8. Wazirabad.
- 9. Khajuari Paramad.



- 10. Khajuri Khasection
- 11. Garhi Mendu.
- 12. Timarpur.
- 13. Chandrawal.
- 14. Usmanpur.
- 15. Ghonda patti Gujran Khadar.
- 16. Ghonda patti chaunan Khadar.
- 17. Andhavli.
- 18. Kaithwara.
- 19. Silampur Amad Delhi.
- 20. Khondli Khadar.
- 21. Jatwara Khurd.
- 22. Muharakpur Reti.



- 23. Shakarpur Khadar.
- 24. Nagla Manchi.
- 25. Shamspur.
- 26. Gharaunda Nimka Khadar.
- 27. Nagli Razapur.
- 28. Chilla Sarauda Khadar.
- 29. Qarnwalnagar urf Dharauli Kalan.
- 30. Jivanpur Johripur.
- 31. Mustafahad.
- 32. Mirpur Turk.
- 33. Ziauddinpur.
- 34. Khanpur Dhani.
- 35. Maujpur.



- 36. Ghonda patti Gujaran Rangar.
- 37. Ghonda patti Chauhan Hangar.
- 38. Jafrabad.
- 39. Uldanpur.
- 40. Dabarpur.
- 41. Siqdarpur
- 42. Gokalpur
- 43. Sabauli.
- 44. Mandauli.
- 45. Taharpur.
- 46. Jhilmila.
- 47. Chandavli urf Shadara.
- 48. Silampur Bangar.



- 49. Silampur Khadar.
- 50. Ghondli Bangar.
- 51. Kakarduman.
- 52. Khureji Khasection
- 53. Khureji Baramad.
- 54. Shakarpur Khas Bangar.
- 55. Mandavli Fazilpur.
- 56. Hasanpur Bhuapur.
- 57. Ghazipur.
- 58. Khichripur.
- 59. Gharaunda Nimk Bangar (Patparaganj).
- 60. Shakarpur Baramad.
- 61. Kotla.



62. Chilla Sarauda Bangar.

#### 63. Dalupura.

- 64. Kondli.
- 65. Gharauli.



#### SCHEDULE II

[See section 2]

## ENACTMENTS IN FORCE IN THE DELHI PROVINCE WHICH WILL NOT BE IN FORCE IN THE TERRITORY ADDED TO THAT PROVINCE

Year.	Number.	Short title.		REMARKS.
1	2	3		4
		Acts of the Governor-General of India in Council	••••	
1887	XVI	The Punjab Tenancy Act, 1887.		
,,	XVII	The Punjab Land Revenue Act, 1887.		
1900	XIII	The Punjab Alienation of Land Act, 1900		
		Punjab Acts		



,,	II	The Punjab Land Preservation (Chos) Act, 1900.	
1912	V	The Colonization Government Lands (Punjab) Act, 1912	
1913	Ι	The Punjab Pre-emption Act, 1913	
,,	II	The Redemption of Mortgages (Punjab) Act, 1913	



#### SCHEDULE III

(*See* section 3)

# ENACTMENTS IN FORCE IN THE UNITED PROVINCES OF AGRA AND OUDH WHICH WILL CONTINUE TO THE IN FORCE IN THE TERRITORY ADDED TO THE DELHI PROVINCE

Year.	Number.	Short title.	REMARKS.
1	2	3	4



		Acts of the Governor-General of India in Council	
1882	IV	The Transfer of Property Act, 1882.	
,,	V	The Indian Easements Act, 1882.	
1891	VIII	An Act to extend the Indian Easements Act, 1882, to certain areas in which that Act is not in force	
1901	II	The Agra Tenancy Act, 1901	
,,	III	The United Provinces Land Revenue Act, 1901.	



1904				In so far as it applies to the Agra Tenancy Act,	
	Ι	The United Provinces Clauses Act, 1904.	General	1901, and United Provi Land	the nces
				Revenue Act, 1	901.